AAUW of North Carolina Minutes of the Business Meeting March 27, 2009 Blockade Runner, Wrightsville Beach, NC

- I Call to Order: President Millie Hoffler Foushee convened the meeting at 1:02 p.m.
- II. Roll Call: A Quorum was present [See attendee list attached].
- III. Approval of Minutes: The minutes from the October 31, 2008 Board meeting were posted on the web. There were no corrections to the minutes. The Minutes were approved as posted.

Bernadine Carpenter (Gaston Regional), Karla Atkinson (Brevard), and Sandra McLaurin (Wilmington) volunteered to be on the reading committee for this meeting.

IV. Resolutions:

 Diversity Committee resolution: Queen Thompson presented a resolution in support of State Superintendent of Public Instruction June Atkinson to resolve the issue of who runs the schools. She further resolved that AAUW works with other women groups in the state to address this issue. Queen will revisit this resolution at the board meeting on Saturday.

Beth Norris moved that this resolution be brought forth by the Diversity Chair and referred to an ad hoc committee appointed by the president at the board meeting on Saturday. Seconded by Etta Alston. The motion passed.

 A resolution was made to congratulate the Raleigh/Wake Branch on their 100th Anniversary.

V. Committee Reports:

- Finance Committee: Mary Fran Schickedantz presented the budget report.
- Nominating Committee: Nancy Shoemaker presented the nominating committee report. She reported there was no candidate for President elect at this time. The Explanation is in the Tar Heel News. Candidates for Co-VP for Programs are Karla Atkinsonon (Brevard) and Lill Van Order (Wilmington). A motion was made from the floor by Doris Bernlohr to nominate Mary Fran Schickedantz (Greensboro) for a second term as Treasurer and seconded by Sue Mengert. Candidates for the Nominating Committee for 2009-10 are Patsy Abell (Statesville), Bernadine "Bernie" Carpenter (Gaston Regional), Margaret "Peg" Holmes (Hendersonville), and J. Denny McGuire (Raleigh/Wake County).
- Election: Motions were made and seconded that all candidates be accepted. The motion was passed.

- VI. Key Message: Carol Newnam SE area Regional Director discussed the new direction the organization is headed and the proposed AAUW Bylaw changes.
- VII. Thanks to Wilmington: President Hoffler-Foushee thanked Wilmington Branch for their hospitality.
- VIII. Announcements: Peg Holman (Hendersonville) announced the Summer Board meeting will be held at the Quality Inn and Suites on July 17-18, 2009. Barbara McCaughey (High Country) announced the fall meeting would be held at ASU in Boone at the Broyhill Inn on October 10, 2009. Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo (Membership VP) announced the College and University Representatives would meet at the Friday Center in Chapel Hill on April 3, 2009.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Mary E. Stephens, AAUW-NC Secretary

Board Meeting Attendees: March 27, 2009

Officers present:

- 1. Millie Hoffler-Foushee, President
- 2. Sheila Basoppo-Moyo, Membership Vice President
- 3. Etta Alston, Program Vice President
- 4. Mary Fran Schickedantz Treasurer
- 5. Mary E. Stephens, Secretary
- 6. Elaine Ostrowski, Public Policy Chair
- 7. Elmira Managum, College/University Chair
- 8. Judythe Atkinsonon, Team Building Coordinator
- 9. Connie Gamble-Ochse, Communications Chair
- 10. Barbara Ann Hughes, Parliamentarian

Past Presidents:

- 1. Nancy Shoemaker
- 2. Mary Fran Schickedantz
- 3. Sandra Champion
- 4. Rebecca Hamrick
- 5. Barbara Ann Hughes
- 6. Mimi Cunningham

Branches represented:

- 1. Brevard Carol Pohl, President
- 2. Chapel Hill Sandy Slate, proxy
- 3. Charlotte Florence Bowen
- 4. Gaston Regional B'Ann Vance, President
- 5. Greensboro Everlena Diggs, president
- 6. Hendersonville Peg Holmes, president
- 7. High Country Marty Folsom, proxy
- 8. High Point Robbie Patterson, proxy
- 9. Jacksonville Regional Joanne Taylor-Hall, President
- 10. Raleigh/Wake County Denny McGuire, president
- 11. Sandhills-Southern Pines Sue Williamson, president
- 12. Statesville Janie Palmer, proxy
- 13. Tar Heel Doris Bernlohr, President
- 14. Tryon Area Ann Wilkins, President
- 15. Wilmington Sandra McLaurin, president
- 16. Winston Salem Kathy Pearre, President

Attendees with no vote at the business meeting

- 1. Rebecca Hamrick Gaston
- 2. Sandra Champion Gaston

Absent officers/branches:

- 1. Asheville
- 2. Bryson City
- 3. Cherokee County
- 4. Eden
- 5. Twin Rivers/New Bern