

American Association of University Women North Carolina (AAUW NC)

Annual State Meeting - March 25, 2023 Minutes

Meeting Date: March 25, 2023 Meeting Time: 9:30 am Meeting Location: *ZOOM*

Subject	Discussion/Progress/Decisions
Introduction Pat Ashe, President	Remarks honoring the founding of the state organization, mission, meeting format.
AAUW NC Young People's Literature Award to "Society of the Sentinelia" Remarks <i>Micki Bare, Author</i>	Pat Ashe introduced the award and its history. She introduced this year's winner, Micki Bare. Ms. Bare made appreciative remarks, validating and inspiring to young girls. Pat Ashe acknowledged the formal presentation of the award on December 2, 2022 in Raleigh. Pat also reminded branch Presidents that a copy of the award book will be sent to each branch, which is intended to be donated to their public library.
Annual Business Meeting Pat Ashe, President Welcome/Introduction Pat Ashe, President	Pat Ashe called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. with introductions and welcome.At the beginning of the meeting, 44 attendees were present.
Establishment of Quorum Kathy Pearre and Mary Ann Bents, Credentials Committee	Branches Represented: 14 out of 16 branches had members present. A quorum is met.

Treasurer's Report Janet Bunger, Treasurer	If there are questions, please email Janet Bunger. She made remarks thanking AAUW NC for the opportunity to serve as an officer.
Announcement of the Previous Year's Annual Meeting Minutes Pat Ashe, President	 Minutes from the March 2022 Annual Business meeting were recorded by Adrienne Stuckey. The reading committee members were Jane Terwillegar and Jean D'Addario, who reviewed and approved the minutes. The minutes are available publicly at: <u>https://www.aauwnc.org/2022-annual-meeting-minutes/</u> The reading committee, appointed by Pat Ashe, who will review and approve the minutes from this meeting are Jane Terwillegar and Susan Ikerd.
Nominations & Elections Nominations Committee Chair, Katie Pincura Officiating Beverly Larson, Vice- president	Nominee for President for the term 2023 -2025: Pat Ashe. Since there was only one candidate, the AAUW NC bylaws allow for a voice vote. Vice-president Beverly Larson conducted a call for any further nominations. None were made. A verbal vote was taken. The vote was unanimous. No candidates for Branch Advocate have been found. That election will be conducted by email when a candidate is found.
Installation Ceremony Beverly Larson, Vice- president	Pat Ashe was installed for her second term beginning July 1, 2023 until June 30, 2025.
President's Report on Branch Activities Pat Ashe, President	Inclusion of in-person and virtual sessions within branches and some providing statewide presentations. Recognition of the branches that provided those programs, Cape Fear, Charlotte, Greensboro, Jacksonville Regional, ODC, WCU, and Winston-Salem. President Ashe continued with remarks about accomplishments and opportunities for branches around the state and nationally. Collaborating organizations were recognized. Anniversaries for branches were celebrated. Proud accomplishments by branches were shared. The business meeting was adjourned at 9:17 a.m.
Announcement Pat Ashe, President	Break and procedures for joining breakout sessions at 9:25 a.m.

Break Out Sessions (3)	 Membership, Inclusion to Belonging, <i>Tiffany Jacobs, DEI Chair</i> 2023 Political Landscape, <i>Rob Schofield, NC Policy Watch Director</i> Branch Leadership Succession, <i>Jeanie Latz, AAUW Board Member</i>
Keynote Speaker Malinda Gaul, AAUW Vice-Chair	Introduction by Pat Ashe, President. Presentation included thanking members, invitation to join national committees, recurrent state and branch challenges in membership and leadership retention, and public policy changes. Vice-chair Gaul took questions from members at the end of the presentation.
Adjournment Pat Ashe, President	The meeting was adjourned at 12:17 p.m.
Notetaker	The minutes were prepared and submitted by Christi Whitworth. The reading committee who will review and approve the minutes from this meeting are Jane Terwillegar and Susan Ikerd.