Fall has officially started and AAUW NC Branches are off to a great start with get togethers, fundraisers, and pot-lucks. Your AAUW NC Board has been busy, too.

The arrangements for the locale of the AAUW NC Annual Meeting are completed. It will be held on March 31 and April 1, 2017 at the Downtown Marriott in Greensboro. The keynote speaker for the 2017 Annual Meeting will be Melissa Johnson, AAUW NC’s representative from AAUW. She will be speaking on “Reproductive Justice”, a topic that is extremely relevant in today’s world.

The Ann Chipley Fund is growing slowly, but we expect to complete it by the end of the year. Remember to designate all your branch gifts to AAUW Fellowship Funds to the Ann Chipley Fund #4051. Ask your individual members to do the same. We need approximately $6,000 to complete the fund. Check the thermometer, set up by Nancy Shoemaker, on the website aauwnc.org to see how we are progressing.

One goal of last year’s annual meeting was to improve communications between the board and branches. The board, as an outcome of this goal, has assigned a board member, Board-Branch Liaison, to each branch. The goal is for the Board-Branch Liaison to be an additional way for the board to communicate with branches. The Board-Branch Liaison role is new and will develop as we go through the year. The assignments are listed below.

2023Micki BareBlind Fairy: Zahra of the Uwharries
2022Micki BareSociety of the Sentinelia: Zahra of the Uwharries
2021Halli GomezList of Ten
2020Meg CannistraThe Trouble with Shooting Stars
2019Kelly Starling LyonsGoing Down Home with Daddy
2018Carole Boston Weatherford Shomberg: The Man Who Built a Library
2017Ali StandishThe Ethan I Was Before
2016Sheila TurnageThe Odds of Getting Even
2015Frances O'Roark DowellAnybody Shining
2014Joan HolubLittle Red Writing
2013Kelly Starling LyonsTea Cakes for Tosh
2012John Claude BemisThe White City
2011Gloria HoustonMiss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile
2010John Claude BemisThe Nine Pound Hammer
2009Clay CarmichaelWild Things
2008Cathryn SillAbout Habitats: Wetlands
2007Eleanora E. TateCeleste's Harlem Renaissance
2006Joyce Moyer HostetterBlue
2005Carole Boston WeatherfordFreedom on the Menu: The Greensboro Sit-ins
2004Blonnie Bunn WycheThe Anchor: P. Moore Proprietor
2003Michelle GroceJasper
2002Carole Boston WeatherfordRemember the Bridge
2001Reynolds PriceA Perfect Friend
2000Lisa Williams KlineEleanor Hill
1999Gloria HoustonBright Freedom's Song: A Story of the UndergroundRailroad
1998Jacqueline K. OgburnJukebox Man
1997Gloria HoustonLittlejim's Dreams: An Appalachian Christmas Story
1996William HooksFreedom's Fruit
1995Joanne and Kenn ComptonSody Sallyratus
1994Joanne ComptonAshpet: An Appalachian Tale
1993Christina AskounisThe Dream of the Stone
1992Bill BrittainWings
1991Suzanne NewtonWhere Are You When I Need You?
1990Lila HopkinsTalking Turkey
1989Belinda HurmenceThe Nightwalker
1988Lila HopkinsEating Crow
1987Sue Ellen BridgersPermanent Connections
1986Nancy TillyGolden Girl
1985Catherine PetroskiThe Summer That Lasted Forever
1984Belinda HurmenceTancy
1983Glen RoundsWild Appaloosa
1982Suzanne NewtonM. V. Sexton Speaking
1981No award
1980Caroline B. CooneySafe As the Grave
1979Suzanne NewtonReubella and the Old Focus Home
1978Suzanne NewtonWhat Are You Up To, William Thomas?
1977Ruth White MillerThe City Rose
1976Glen RoundsMr. Yowder and the Lion Roar Capsules
1975Alexander KeyThe Magic Meadow
1974Suzanne NewtonC/O Arnold's Corners
1973Barbara M. ParramoreThe People of North Carolina
1972No award
1971Suzanne NewtonPurro and the Prattleberries
1970Mebane Holoman BurgwynThe Crackajack Pony
1969Mary Lina Bledsoe GilletBugles at the Border
1968Neal F. AustinA Biography of Thomas Wolfe
1967Glen RoundsThe Snake Tree
1966Richard Walser and Julia Montgomery StreetNorth Carolina Parade: Stories of History and People
1965Alexander KeyThe Forgotten Door
1964Randall JarrellThe Bat-Poet
1963Julia Montgomery StreetDulcie's Whale
1962Manly Wade WellmanRifles at Ramsour's Mill
1961Glen RoundsBeaver Business
1960Jonathan DanielsStonewall Jackson
1959Thelma Harrington BellCaptain Ghost
1958Ina B. ForbusThe Secret Circle
1957Nell Wise WechterTaffy of Torpedo Junction
1956Julia Montgomery StreetFiddler's Fancy
1955Ruth and Latrobe CarrollDigby, the Only Dog
1954Mebane Holoman BurgwynPenny Rose
1953Ruth and Latrobe CarrollPeanut

Note that this information is also listed on the branch contacts page, and contact information for all board members can be found on the state contacts page.

By now, each branch president has received information about updating your branch ByLaws. In the email from Sandy Camillo, instructions and Model ByLaws were attached. Jean D’Addario will be in contact with you giving you additional information as needed.

Last, but not least, let’s help in any way we can to get out the vote.
– Sandra McLaurin, Co-President

Upcoming events

  • Mark your calendars for 3/31-4/1/2017 NC Annual Meeting. It will be at  the Greensboro Downtown Marriott.
  • AAUW 2017 Convention: June 14-17 in DC

Contact information:

  • State board members
  • Branch contacts
  • This site’s Member Center  (which will be fully updated for 2016-2017 later this summer) also has
    • full info on 2016-2017 branch officers  (as reported to AAUW)
    • 2016-2017 AAUW fellows and grantees in NC